Health Technology Assessment

Health Technology Assessments (HTA)  analyse the safety and efficacy of a technology, a drug or a vaccine, often in combination with an economic analysis of the intervention’s cost-effectiveness. The aim of these studies is to establish the ratio of the price of the technology to its health and quality-of-life benefits. These assessments are most often conducted on products presented as innovative, for which industry negotiates prices with the public authorities that are often (extremely) high.

HTAs often encounter a strong resistance, as they oppose the idea that “you can’t put a price on health”. On the contrary, we at KCE are persuaded that it is not ethical to reimburse a health intervention without first confirming in a real-life situation that it brings added value in terms of health, at a reasonable cost for society.

The principal aim of an HTA is not to achieve savings in the health sector or to obstruct the introduction of new technologies, but to support governments in using the available resources in the most efficient way while ensuring the quality, accessibility and relevance of care.

What is cost-effectiveness?

A cost-effectiveness analysis expresses the benefits of a given treatment in "healthy life years gain" or "quality-adjusted life-years gain" (which is also referred to as Quality-Adjusted Life-Year or QALY) for the patient.

When a treatment is less costly than an existing treatment while yielding better results for the patient, the choice between the two is easy. But new treatments often bring a health benefit at costs much higher than those of a conventional treatment. In this case, the ratio between the incremental cost and the lifetime gain (adjusted or not for quality of life) has to be calculated. This ratio is called the incremental cost-effectiveness ratio (ICER).

Published on: 
2017/08/03

Health Technology Assessment

Les études de type Health Technology Assessment (HTA) analysent la sécurité et l’efficacité d’une technologie, d’un médicament ou d’un vaccin, souvent en combinaison avec une analyse économique de leur rapport coût-utilité. Leur but est alors de déterminer le rapport entre le prix qui en est demandé et le bénéfice qu’ils apportent en termes de santé et de qualité de vie. Ces analyses sont le plus souvent réalisées pour des produits présentés comme innovants, pour lesquels l’industrie négocie des prix parfois (très) élevés avec les pouvoirs publics.

Les études de Health Technology Assessment font souvent grincer bien des dents, car elles vont à l’encontre de l’idée que « la santé n’a pas de prix ». Au contraire, nous sommes persuadés qu’il n’est pas éthique de rembourser une intervention de santé sans vérifier d’abord en situation réelle qu’elle apporte bien une plus-value en termes de santé, au vu du coût que la collectivité devra financer.

Il ne s’agit donc pas de justifier des économies dans le secteur de la santé, ni de freiner l’introduction de nouvelles technologies, mais bien de soutenir les pouvoirs publics dans leur volonté d’utiliser les moyens disponibles de la manière la plus efficiente possible tout en garantissant la qualité, l’accessibilité et la pertinence des soins.

Qu’est-ce que le rapport coût-efficacité ?

Une analyse du rapport coût-efficacité exprime les bénéfices d’un traitement donné en « gain d’années de vie en bonne santé » ou en « gain d’années de vie en bonne santé ajustées en fonction de la qualité » (ce que l’on appelle aussi Quality-Adjusted Life-Year ou QALY) pour le patient.

Lorsqu’un traitement est moins onéreux que le traitement existant et qu’il donne un meilleur résultat pour le patient, le choix est facile. Mais souvent, les nouveaux traitements apportent bien un bénéfice pour la santé, mais coûtent plus que le traitement classique. Dans ce cas, on calcule le rapport entre le coût supplémentaire et le gain de durée de vie (ajusté ou non pour la qualité de vie). C’est ce que l’on appelle l’ICER (incremental cost-effectiveness ratio).

Published on: 
2017/07/10